The Language of Love

Children have different perceptions about what is a token of love from a parent. Read about the 5 different languages of love.

This morning, my husband started to give me a kiss to wish me Happy Valentine’s Day. I instantly backed away. I did NOT want a kiss from him.


He was fresh from the shower (so no pesky body odor). His breath was fresh. He was trying to be a nice husband and do what husbands should do to show their wives that they love them (kiss them).

The problem wasn’t with him. It was with me. Me, and my sunburned lips.

If my lips weren’t sunburned (from our fantastic trip to Belize) I would wholeheartedly want a kiss from my husband. But a kiss on my fat, blistered, sore lips wasn’t exactly tops on my list of what I would like from him (at that moment in time).

Which brings me to what I would like to share today. My sweet husband shared an article with me about how parents need to learn to speak their children’s love language. Here’s a link to the article. I highly recommend that you read it.

It talks about how different children perceive different things as a token of their parents’ love. Maybe one child feels special and loved when his parents play baseball with him. Maybe a daughter feels loved when her parents read a story to her.

Parents need to pay attention to their children and learn what their child’s ‘love language’ is. And then do it. Parents can’t use a cookie cutter effect by doing the same thing to all of their children and expect all of their children to feel equally loved.

This is the same thing for grandparents. If a grandson loves tearing old electronic things apart and putting them back together, then he will feel loved when grandpa spends time doing that with him. If a grandchild loves sewing or building things with wood, then grandma (or grandpa) should make sure that they do these activities with that grandchild.

The article mentions the book “The 5 Love Languages” by Gary Chapman. I think that this would be a good book to read. The five “love languages” outlined in the book are:

  1. Words of affirmation
  2. Acts of service
  3. Receiving gifts
  4. Quality time
  5. Physical touch

So, watch your grandchildren. See how they respond to your words of affirmation or when you spend quality time with them. You might even ask them right out what you do that makes them feel loved. And, once you get their answer, be sure that you do plenty of what they say!

And, we grandma’s just might learn how to do things for our husbands that shows our love for them. We can always do things to strengthen our relationships with our husbands.

Love. Showing it and sharing it is what life is all about.

One thought on “The Language of Love

  • Grandma Kc

    Great post and I will go read the article, too. Without a doubt Amara’s language of love is “quality time” shared in different ways by each of us. She is the best!

Comments are closed.